Sails being installed on Xewkija’s unique 18th century windmill
Email item
| Print item
|
|
This morning, the sails on Xewkija’s unique 18th century windmill are being lifted into position, meaning that the restoration project on this oldest surviving windmill in Gozo will soon be completed.
The windmill was commissioned by Grand Master Perellos in the beginning of the 18th century, it is the only windmill that has the tower based on an octagonal base.
The project includes the creation of a small piazza area around the Grade 1 scheduled building, therefore improving the viewing experience and accessibility of the Xewkija Windmill.
The windmill’s mechanism has been reconstructed and conservation works included the removal of metallic inserts and cement renders, the replacement of the windmill’s concrete roof with traditional stone slabs and the cleaning of the stone.
New public convenience facilities have also been constructed adjacent to the windmill.
The windmill consists of a large entrance hall, two large parallel rooms, and a kitchen at the back and started operating in 1710 by miller Ganni Scicluna. In the middle there is the garigor leading up to the roof of the tower. Above the entrance hall is a birth room.
The windmill, in 1956, served as the first location of the Xewkija Band Club. It was used by the band club’s committee until 1965. Since then the windmill had remained empty and unused.
The work has been carried out through the assistance of the European Fund for Regional Development following the Planning Commission’s approval of the restoration back in August 2017.
Photograph by Maggie Bajada


























